Gabigol strikes to win Copa Libertadores for Flamengo

Gabigol strikes to win Copa Libertadores for Flamengo

Gabriel Barbosa scored the only goal of the game as Flamengo beat 10-man Athletico Paranaense 1-0 to win their third Copa Libertadores.

The all-Brazilian clash at Estadio Monumental Banco Pichincha in Ecuador was ultimately decided by the man nicknamed ‘Gabigol’ in first-half stoppage time.

An even opening 45 looked like it was going to end all square, but Pedro Henrique was sent off after picking up his second yellow card in the 43rd minute for a foul on Ayrton Lucas to tip the scales in Flamengo’s favour.

Athletico were made to pay shortly after when neat work by Everton Ribeiro on the right ended with the Brazil forward crossing for Barbosa to tap in at the far post in the fourth minute of stoppage time.

Barbosa could have had another six minutes into the second half when Giorgian de Arrascaeta played him in on goal, but Athletico goalkeeper Bento smothered his effort as Luiz Felipe Scolari’s team tried to stay in the contest.

Athletico substitute David Terans hit a free-kick from almost 30 yards that forced Aderbar Santos into a good save to his left late on, but Dorival Junior’s team held on for a famous win in what is South America’s version of the Champions League.